Rudeness that makes me want to punch people.


Not my usual sort of post but I have had a really bad day and feel an urgent and unrelenting need to give C2C and Basildon Hospital some bad press.

“William wondered why he always disliked people who said “no offence meant”. Maybe it was because they found it easier to say “no offence meant” than actually refrain from giving offence.” The Truth by Terry Pratchett.

First off, the damn trip to Basildon hospital for my ante-natal appointment took nearly 2 hours.  It usually only takes an hour but the drivers must have been on a go-slow day.  Secondly, they kept me waiting for an hour and a half after my appointment time (saying ‘Sorry for the wait’ seems to be easier for these people, than you know…NOT MAKING PEOPLE WAIT AN HOUR AND A HALF!) before I was seen just so they could tell me something they could have said on the phone. Then they sent me down to the hospital pharmacy to pick up some 50 mcg tablets because they modified my thyroxine dose.   They could have written to my docs and got them to sort it out or even given me a green prescription.  You know the stupid awkward ones that can only be used in EVERY DAMNED CHEMIST IN THE BLOODY COUNTRY.  Half an hour after reaching their pharmacy I still didn’t have my tablets even though there was no one in front of me.  Seriously, I was there waiting on my own.  There was no one at the collection desk either so I rang the bell.  Five minutes later, and after no response I rang it again but they continued to ignore both it and me.   This is when I left my queue number on the still un-manned desk and walked out without my tablets.

“It would be a pretty good bet that the gods of a world like this probably do not play chess and indeed this is the case. In fact no gods anywhere play chess. They haven’t got the imagination. Gods prefer simple, vicious games, where you Do Not Achieve Transcendence but Go Straight To Oblivion; a key to the understanding of all religions is that a god’s idea of amusement is Snakes and Ladders with greased rungs.” – Wyrd Sisters by Terry Pratchett.

Having had quite enough of waiting all day for other people to do their fucking jobs, and already mentally drafting one strongly worded letter to the hospital over inefficient practice and bad management (admin mentalities never fade do they?), I discovered on the bus back to Grays that I had lost the return part of my train ticket but I still had the receipt.   So, in my infinite wisdom, I went to the ticket box to show them the receipt and asked them for a permit to travel.  However, the bitch from hell is on the other side of the counter and she tried to accuse me of not only stealing the receipt and trying to dodge the fare, but made me buy a new single fare before letting me through the gate.  My train was due to arrive in lest than a minute but she was going as slow as she could.  When I pointed out that I was already going to complain about her and asked if she wanted me to mention deliberately making me miss my train too, she hurried…a little but was otherwise a total cow.  Luckily the chap behind me called her up on her attitude too and gave me his details to cite him as a witness.   I got her name too (from her badge that she tried to hide by leaning away) so I will complain to C2C ask for a refund of both tickets and demand that she is formally disciplined.

‘This is a test, right?’
‘You’re a quick study, Mister Vimes.’
‘But in some other universe, believe me, I hauled off and punched you one.’

Nightwatch by Terry Pratchett

All this time, I had a toddler with me who’d been stuck in his pushchair all day and needed a fresh nappy.  He’s been as good as gold today and I will make sure his daddy brings him home a big treat.  DON’T MESS WITH PREGNANT WOMEN, HEY.  WE BITE!!!

Please also rate this post. Thanks

